Did you know that Dallas ASHRAE has several award-winning members




Honors & Awards
H&A Chair

Pamela L Duffy, PE


This page was last updated on February 2, 2021

The Dallas Chapter Honors & Awards committee helps ensure that members are recognized for their efforts. Awards range from individual awards for volunteer efforts to awards for building designs. If you believe an ASHRAE member deserved to be recognized, please reach out to our H&A committee at [email protected] 




2021 - New Building - Health Care - CHRISTUS Mother Frances Hospital Bradley-Thompson Tower, Smith Seckman Reid

A five-story expansion to the Tyler Campus, the Bradley-Thompson Tower drastically increased the emergency and intensive care capabilities of the CHRISTUS Trinity Mother Frances Health System. The 200,000 SF tower focusing on patient care spaces features unique plate and frame converters to generate domestic hot water from the heating water loop, eliminating all natural gas fired equipment outside of the central plant.

Bradley Thompson Tower - Building Tech Award Winner


2021 - New Construction - Educational Facilities - Arlington ISD Agricultural Science Center - RWB Consulting Engineers

This experiential school in Arlington, TX gives students hands-on experience with agricultural education. The building has a wide variety of spaces with an indoor/outdoor design, with everything from animal holding pens to classrooms.  The Agricultural Science Center is a net-zero energy building (NZEB) with many conservation features, including a photovoltaic array and wind turbine. The building has regularly produced more energy that it consumes.

Arlington ISD Agricultural Science Center - Building Tech Award Winner


2021 - Existing Building - Educational Facilities - Lake Highlands Freshman Center - RWB Consulting Engineers

Serving over 2,700 students in Richardson ISD, the Lake Highlands High School Freshman Center provides the youngest students on the campus a home of their own. The satellite campus, originally built in 1997, suffered from a lack of design diversity and inadequately sized equipment. With a tight construction timeline, the RWB team’s clever approach of utilizing existing ductwork while re-zoning the building had a big impact: downsized equipment and improved occupant comfort.

Lake Highlands Freshman Center - Building Tech Award Winner





2022 Building Technology AWARDS

2022 ASHRAE Building Technology Award

Have you worked on a building project that was particularly unique or challengingWere you able to solve a design challenge related to efficiency, comfort, indoor air quality… or a different challenge entirely?

Then, consider applying for the ASHRAE Technology award! 

Buildings must be occupied no later than September 1st, 2021. Categories include new, existing, and existing building commissioning for the following building types:

  • Commercial Buildings
  • Institutional Buildings
  • Health Care Facilities
  • Industrial Facilities or Processes
  • Public Assembly
  • Residential


First-place winners will be automatically submitted to the regional competition, and regional winners will be advanced to the Society competition. Society winners will be featured in the ASHRAE Journal. 

Benefits of Winning an ASHRAE Technology Award


  1. ENTRY FORM: Complete the simple, single-page entry form
  2. SCHEMATIC: Attach a system schematic/diagram not larger than 11” x 17” in size
  3. PROJECT NARRATIVE:Complete a brief narrative (maximum of 2 pages). The narrative should include:
    • The gross and net building areas applicable to the project
    • A description of the major building areas (i.e.,operating rooms, laboratories, computer rooms, industrial processes, offices, warehouses)
    • A brief discussion regarding the following six criteria (if a criterion is not applicable, state accordingly):
      • Energy Efficiency
      • Indoor Air Quality
      • Innovation
      • Operation & Maintenance
      • Cost Effectiveness
      • Environmental Impact

Submissions are due on December 17, 2021. Direct questions to Pam at [email protected]